CQC highlights ‘positive improvement’ and ‘well-led’ services at Bradford hospitals

The Care Quality Commission (CQC) is the independent health and adult social care regulator. They monitor, inspect and regulate services to make sure the fundamental standards of quality and safety are met.

Following inspections in January and February 2018, Bradford Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust has been told it is a ‘well-led’ organisation.

The Care Quality Commission (CQC) also found that care was ‘patient centred and compassionate’ at the Trust’s hospitals which include Bradford Royal Infirmary (BRI) and St Luke’s Hospital.

The report highlights many areas of ‘outstanding practice’. In particular, it awards BRI’s urgent and emergency services, which were inspected during winter, one of the busiest and most challenging times of the year, a rating of ‘Good’ – an improvement on a previous inspection.

Surgery was also rated as ‘Good’ but because not all the hospitals’ services were inspected during the visit in January 2018, the partial inspection means the Trust has been unable to raise its overall rating from ‘Requires Improvement.’

In the past, ‘well-led’ was just one of the five domains inspected, but now it was an entirely separate inspection all of its own.  The Trust’s inspection in February 2018 assessed leadership and governance at senior management level; as well as overall organisational vision and strategy; governance, management, improvement capability; and organisational culture and levels of engagement.

The CQC identified some issues that we still need to address, to give our patients the best possible care, and we will move on positively and continue our overall improvement.

Areas of outstanding practice praised by the CQC in its report include:

  • Regular simulation-based training in the emergency department;
  • The emergency department’s musculoskeletal clinic;
  • The series of “hot clinics” held by the ambulatory care assessment unit;
  • The medical care service which has an “outstanding approach” to multidisciplinary working;
  • The virtual elderly care ward, which won the ‘Improving Value in the Care of Frail Older Patients’ award at the HSJ Value in Healthcare Awards 2017;
  • The surgery service which ensures the right patient gets the right operation by adding a green wrist-band at the time of consent;
  • Paperless radiology;
  • A virtual acute surgical ward developed to manage patients with specific conditions in surgery at home while they await their procedure;
  • A ‘Fragility Fracture Nurse Service’;
  • Development of the Bradford Macula Centre.

The report also found that there was ‘a positive culture across the Trust with a strong focus on patient safety’, ‘staff felt appreciated and proud about working the Trust’ and that there was ‘a focus on continuous learning and improvement at all levels in the organisation.’

Areas marked for improvement were medical services in the ‘safe’ and ‘effective’ domains and maternity services in the ‘safe’, ‘effective’ and ‘well-led’ domains.

In their summary of findings, the CQC said: “Overall we found that care was patient centred and compassionate and we received positive feedback from the patients and relatives we spoke with. This demonstrates positive improvement since the last inspection, but as two of the services that were not inspected on this visit had elements of requires improvement this has not allowed the hospital to raise its rating overall.”

Our ratings are as follows:

Bradford Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

St. Luke’s Hospital

Shipley Community Hospital

Bradford Royal Infirmary

Eccleshill Community Hospital

Westbourne Green Community Hospital

Westwood Park Community Hospital

Font Resize